General Meeting Information

Date: May 7, 2018
Time: 2:30 - 4:30 p.m.
Location: ADM 109

  • Agenda

    Time Topic Purpose Discussion Leader
    2:30 - 2:35 p.m. Welcome I Nguyen
    2:35 - 2:40 p.m. Approval of Agenda and notes from Apirl 30th meeting A All
    2:40 - 2:50 p.m. Needs and Confirmations I/D/A Nguyen
    2:50 - 3:00 p.m. Baner/Registration Survey Result here I/D Newell
    3:00 - 3:20 p.m. Mission Statement Review Process and strategic Planning Activity


    3:20 - 3:30 p.m.

    Affirmation of College Values (2nd Read)

    • Updated version here


    3:30 - 3:50 p.m.

    Changes to Title V: New Withdrawal “W” Classifications  (first read)

    • Ward
    • Mandy
    3:50 - 4:10 p.m.

    Curriculum - Online courses and GE Communication Requirements (2nd Read)

     I/D/A Woodbury
    4:10 - 4:20 p.m.

    Update from Election Committee

    • Balm
    • Karmi
    • Klingman
    4:20 - 4:25 p.m.

    Appreciations and Meeting Feedback

    I All
    4:25 - 4:30 p.m.

    Good of the Order

    I All

    A = Action
    D = Discussion
    I = Information

  • Minutes

    Meeting Minutes

    • Welcome new DASB representative Josephine Lukius.
    • Alicia make name tag

    Approval of Agenda and notes from April 30th meeting
    • Agenda vote: No objections, agenda approved
    • Notes vote: no objections, notes approved

    Needs and Confirmations
    • Julie Hughes tenure committee: no objections to Doli as at large.

     Banner/Registration Survey Results 

     Mission Statement Review Process and Strategic Planning Activity 
    • College Planning Committee Updates Presentation
    • Mallory walked us through an exercise on Poll Everywhere where senators were able to text their ideas on “what is one word that describes De Anza to you?” Some responses included: community, supportive, diversity

     Affirmation of College Values (2nd Read)
    • Updated version here
    • Moved by Marc, Seconded by Mary D, 
      • Yes, 18, three abstentions (Rani, My Linh, John W.)

     Changes to Title V: New Withdrawal “W” Classifications  (first read)
    • See Title V especially sections (d) and (e)
    • New Classifications for consideration
    • There were many questions about how the new W’s will work in practice.
    • Mandy and Ward will return next week for a second read

    Curriculum - Online courses and GE Communication Requirements (2nd Read)

    Link to proposal


    1. "Foster oral and/or written communication as well as collaborative exercises."
    2. "Foster written communication as well as collaborative exercises. Courses should also foster oral communication when appropriate."
    3. "Foster communication in its many forms as well as collaborative exercises."  
      • Discussion
      • Mary S (motioned) and Marc (seconded) on number 2, Discussion continued, 
        • #1: 4 
        • #2: 16 
        • #3: 2
        • Vote in favor: 19, three abstentions, no objections

    Update from Election Committee

    Appreciations and Meeting Feedback
    • Jim gave appreciation to our guests

    Good of the Order
    • Kirsch Center
    • Part-time symposium Saturday May 19 9-4 pm Fireside Lounge
    • Blood Drive: May 10th 2018, from 8 am to 7 pm. in the Campus Center, Conference Room A&B
    • Kirsch Center- “Pond and Potluck,” Friday, May 11, 9am-2pm

    Officers and Senators

    Executive Committee Members Present

    Name Position Present
    Karen Chow President  
    Jim Nguyen Vice President   
    Alicia Del Toro Executive Secretary/Treasurer  
    Yael Karmi PT  
    Mary Donahue PT  
    Paul Klingman App Tech  
    John Walton App Tech  
    Bob Kalpin BHES  
    Peter Miskin BHES  
    Mia Breen Bus/CIS  
    Mary Pape Bus/CIS  
    Milena Grozeva Levy CA  
    Elizabeth Mjelde (on PDL in Fall) CA  
    Nellie Vargas CD&E  
    Pauline Wethington Counseling   
    Rob Clem Counseling   
    Kevin Glapion DSPS  
    Anita Vazdifar DSPS  
    Catie Cadge Moore IIS  
    Marc Coronado ICS/IIS  
    Cheryl Balm PSME  
    Rani Fischer PSME  
    Iva Tracey LA  
    Becky Roberts LA(Sp18)  
    Laura Chin SSH  
    My Linh Pham SSH  
    Arden Kragalott PE  
    Scott Hertler PE  
    Tom Dolen LR  
    Mary Sullivan SD  
    Eric Woodbury Curriculum Committee  

    Guests Present

    Name Position Present
    Jeff Staudinger ESCI/ES  
    Cynthia Kafmann VIDA Director  
    Brian Murphy DA Pres  
    Stacey Cook VPSS  
    Christina Espinosa-Pieb VPI  
    Susan Cheu VPFCO  
    Lorrie Ranck AVPI  
    TBA OSOD  
    Marisa Spatafore Mktng  
    Hayman Wong DASB  
    Bob Stockwell FA  
    Lorna Maynard CS  
    Elias Kamal Student Trustee  
    Mallory Newell IR  
    Moaty Fayek Dean BS/CIS  
    Renee Augenstein Articulation  
    Mary Bennett Tenure Review  
    Sheila White-Daniels Dean Counseling  
    Nancy Canter Dean CA  
    Alicia Cortez Interim Dean, Equity and Engagement  
    Coleen Lee Wheat Dean PE  
    Isaac Escoto FH Academic Senate  
    Mayra Cruz District Academic Senate President  
    Pam Grey AVPCO  
    Stacey Shears DSP&S  
    Anita Kandula Dean BHES  
    Michele LeBleu-Burns Dean, Stud Dev/EOPS  
    Rob Mieso Associate VP of Student Services  
    Lisa Mandy Dir Finan Aid  
    Tamica Ward Enrollment Services Dean  
    Edmundo Norte Dean IIS  
    Thomas Ray Dean LA  
    Jerry Rosenberg Dean PSME  
    Judy Miner Chancellor  
    Dawn Lee Tu Office of Professional Development  
    Carolyn Wilkins-Green Dean SSH  
    Kelly Swanson Book Store  
    Mary Pape SLO  
    David Ulate FHDA Research & Planning  

Documents and Links

Back to Top