General Meeting Information

Date: April 9, 2018
Time: 2:30 - 3:30 p.m.
Location: LC 107 (Library)

  • Agenda

    Time Topic Purpose Discussion Leader
    2:30 - 2:35 p.m. Welcome I
    • Chow
    • Nguyen
    • Cruz
    • Escoto
    2:35 - 2:40 p.m. Approval of Agenda and notes from April 9th joint senate meeting A
    • Nguyen
    • Cruz
    • Escoto
    • Chow
    2:40 - 3:25 p.m. Resolutions Review (Statewide Plenary taking place April 12-14) I/D All
    3:25 - 3:30 P.M. Good of the Order I All
    A = Action
    D = Discussion
    I = Information
  • Minutes

    Meeting Minutes

    Approval of Agenda
    • approved

    Resolutions Review (Statewide Plenary taking place April 12-14)
    • Mayra asked for senators to bring up specific resolutions to read and discuss. The following resolutions were requested for discussion, and the “Resolveds” were read aloud and discussion ensued:
      • 6.01 S18 Oppose Proposed Consolidation of Categorical Program Funding (approved)
        • discussion
      • 6.02 S18 Opposition to the Proposed California Online Community College District (approved)
        • conversation with dissent presented
      • 7.05 S18 Legal Interpretation of AB 705 (Irwin, 2017)
        • discussion
    • we ran out of time to discuss these Resolutions, but Senate Officers requested Senators with any feedback on these items to send emails to the Officers about them:
      • 7.06 S18 Support Students’ Rights to Enroll in English as a Second Language (ESL) Coursework
      • 7.07 S18 Maintain Language Placement Tests as a Multiple Measure Option for English as a Second Language (ESL)
      • 9.02 S18 Pathways to Meet General Education Requirements of Quantitative
      • 9.04 S18 Effective Practices in Online Lab Science Courses
      • 19.02 S18 Defining Collegiality in the Workplace

    Good of the Order
    • Stockwell suggested faculty go to FACCC's website to participate in click and send emails to legislators regarding state budget

    Officers and Senators

    Executive Committee Members Present

    Name Position Present
    Karen Chow President Y
    Jim Nguyen Vice President 
    Alicia Del Toro Executive Secretary/Treasurer Y
    Yael Karmi PT Y
    Mary Donahue PT Y
    Paul Klingman App Tech Y
    John Walton App Tech  
    Bob Kalpin BHES  
    Peter Miskin BHES Y
    Mia Breen Bus/CIS  
    Mary Pape Bus/CIS  
    Milena Grozeva Levy CA Y
    Elizabeth Mjelde (on PDL in Fall) CA  
    Nellie Vargas CD&E  
    Pauline Wethington Counseling   
    Rob Clem Counseling   
    Anita Vazdifar DSPS Y
    Catie Cadge Moore IIS  
    Marc Coronado ICS/IIS Y
    Cheryl Balm PSME Y
    Chris DiLeonardo PSME
    Iva Tracey LA Y
    Veronica Avila LA(Sp18)
    Laura Chin SSH
    My Linh Pham SSH Y
    Arden Kragalott PE  
    Scott Hertler PE  
    Tom Dolen LR Y
    Mary Sullivan SD Y
    Eric Woodbury Curriculum Committee Y

    Guests Present

    Name Position Present
    Brian Murphy DA Pres  
    Stacey Cook VPSS  
    Christina Espinosa-Pieb VPI  
    Susan Cheu VPFCO  
    Lorrie Ranck AVPI  
    TBA OSOD  
    Marisa Spatafore Mktng  
    Vacancy DASB  
    Bob Stockwell FA  Y
    Lorna Maynard CS  
    Elias Kamal Student Trustee  
    Mallory Newell IR  
    Moaty Fayek Dean BS/CIS  
    Renee Augenstein Articulation  
    Mary Bennett Tenure Review  
    Sheila White-Daniels Dean Counseling  
    Nancy Canter Dean CA  
    Alicia Cortez Interim Dean, Equity and Engagement  
    Coleen Lee Wheat Dean PE  
    Isaac Escoto FH Academic Senate  
    Mayra Cruz District Academic Senate President  
    Pam Grey AVPCO  
    Stacey Shears DSP&S  
    Anita Kandula Dean BHES  
    Michele LeBleu-Burns Dean, Stud Dev/EOPS  
    Rob Mieso Associate VP of Student Services  
    Lisa Mandy Dir Finan Aid  
    Tamica Ward Enrollment Services Dean  
    Edmundo Norte Dean IIS  
    Thomas Ray Dean LA  
    Jerry Rosenberg Dean PSME  
    Judy Miner Chancellor  
    Dawn Lee Tu Office of Professional Development  
    Carolyn Wilkins-Green Dean SSH  
    Kelly Swanson Book Store  
    Mary Pape SLO  
    David Ulate FHDA Research & Planning   

    Foothill Senators

    Name Position Present
    Andrew LaManque    
    Bruce McLeod    
    Carol Josselyn    
    Carolyn Holcroft    
    David Marasco    
    Donna Frankel    
    Isaac Escoto    
    Jody Craig    
    Jordanna Finnegan    
    Katherine Maurer    
    Katherine Schaefers    
    Kimberly Escamilla    
    Lisa Eshman    
    Mary Thomas    
    Meredith Heiser    
    Patrick Morriss    
    Ramiel Petros    
    Rita O'Loughlin    
    Rosa Nguyen    
    Tobias Nava    
    Voltaire Villanueva    

Documents and Links

Back to Top