What is the Student Trustee?

In addition to the five elected trustees of the Board of Trustees for the Foothill-De Anza Community College District, there will be one student trustee from each college. Following procedures prescribed by the Board, the student trustees will be chosen by the students enrolled in the colleges. The term of the student trustees will be one year commencing on June 1.

The student trustees will be seated with the elected trustees at all public meetings of the Board and will be recognized at those meetings as full members of the Board for the purpose of questioning witnesses, discussing issues and making and seconding motions.

The student trustees will be entitled to an advisory vote. If a student trustee wishes to cast an advisory vote, it shall be taken prior to the Board’s vote. Furthermore, the student trustees will receive all material presented to the publicly elected trustees, except material that relates to matters considered in closed session.

FHDA Board Policy 2015 "Student Members"

FHDA Administrative Procedure 2105 "Student Trustee Selection Procedures"

CA Education Code Section 72023.5

Current Student Trustee

Elias Kamal

Elias Kamal is a second year student leader at De Anza College. Currently a political science major, Elias is passionate about education policy, environmental issues, and socio-economic justice. At De Anza College he is involved in community organizing, VIDA, and writes for the student newspaper "La Voz." As Student Trustee he serves on the Foothill-De Anza Board of Trustees and is dedicated to working with staff and students to close the achievement gap, provide more accessible campus resources, and to create a more equitable learning environment.

Elias Kamal


Office Hours: By appointment through email


Back to Top