Dons De Anza Athletics

De Anza College Athletics

2008-2009 Program and Team News

Congratulations to De Anza College's intercollegiate athletics program as it continues to rank among the best of Northern California junior colleges.

After the 2008-09 sports season closed in June, De Anza was honored with the Coast Conference All Sports Trophy, an annual award given to the best all-around sports program in the 17-member Coast Conference.

"In the 25 years that this trophy has been given, it's the 15th time De Anza has won," said Kulwant Singh, De Anza's athletic director. "I applaud all the coaches, staff and student athletes for helping win this award."

The Coast Conference, includes West Valley, San Jose City, Foothill, Mission and Evergreen Valley, stretches from Monterey Peninsula College in the south to City College of San Francisco in the north and Las Positas of Livermore in the east.

De Anza's Athletics Department, an extension of the college's Physical Education division, sponsors 19 teams, 10 women's and nine men's. In 2008-09, De Anza won championships in four women's sports — cross country, soccer, tennis and swimming — and finished second in both men's and women's track and field. Seasons highlights follow:

After winning the conference championship, the women's cross country team, coached Nick Mattis and J.J. Noble, placed third in Northern California and 12th in the state. The Dons' top runner was Willow Glen graduate Vanessa James, who won the individual conference championship, placed fifth in Northern California and 35th out of 191 runners at the state meet.

The rest of the line-up for the NorCal and State meets were Kristi Whitmyre (Sobrato), Kim Chew (Cupertino), Jessica Paranthaman, Kim Kilgore (Castilleja), Yasamin Yazdi (Monta Vista) and Lauren Rosiles (Mt. Pleasant), the only sophomore on the team. Other team members were Kate Braham (Los Gatos), Felicia Costa (Branham), Stephanie Nguyen (Evergreen Valley), Maura Villanueva (Independence) and Devin Powell.

Former Cupertino standout Abiy Gebrekristos led the men's cross country team to fourth in conference, seventh in NorCal and 21st in the state. Joining Gebrekristos in the Dons' state meet line-up were Jonathan Doron-Peters of Israel, Takahiro Shiraiwa (Leland), Mike Mayes, Christopher Trinidade (Evergreen) and John Hoang (Mt. Pleasant). Other team members included Luis Nunez (Monta Vista), Caleb Escobar (Cupertino), Wayne Chang (Los Gatos), Paul Tomka (Homestead) and Jeremy Lipp (Gunderson).

Sparked by All-America field players Jenny Kute (Monta Vista) and Jen Herrera (Evergreen) and goalkeeper Gabby Batmani (Oak Grove), De Anza put together a 13-0 unbeaten run to the Coast Conference North Division title.

Kute, a sophomore selected as a first team all-American by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, and second-team pick Herrera were joined by Jessica Heeb (Mountain View) and Yasmin Mohamed as the top point producers for coach Cheryl Owiesny's squad, which compiled an overall record of 16-5-1, including 1-1 in the NorCal playoffs.

The De Anza women, coached by Coleen Lee-Wheat, went 10-2 in conference matches and earned a co-title with Chabot of Hayward. Los Gatos resident Priya Prasad (Middle College), Diane LuTran (Silver Creek), Michelle Decaro (Homestead) and Sam Weng (The King's Academy) were the top players.

Swimmers Leticia Ng, Elena Santamaria (Leland) and Cassandra Scott (Leland) and divers Bailey Hopper (1-meter springboard) and Katherine Klein (3-meter) all won individual events, leading coach Pete Raykovich's squad to a Coast Conference championship.

Ng, who attended high school in Hong Kong, earned gold medals in the 50- and 100-yard breaststroke races, as well as the 100 individual medley at the CC meet. Later, at the state championship meet, Ng lowered the De Anza records while placing sixth in the100 breast (1:07.22) and 10th in the 50 (31.75).

Santamaria claimed conference gold in the 50 and 100 freestyle sprints, while Scott took first in the 50 and 100 backstroke races. Jessica Garcia (Archbishop Mitty) finished second to Scott in both events.

Various combinations of Santamaria, Scott, Garcia, Ng and Hio-Hei Chan claimed first in the 200, 400 and 800 freestyle relays and the 400 medley relay.

In one of the most successful seasons in school history, Dons earned Coast Conference gold in seven events, three by freshman distance ace Kristi Whitmyre (Sobrato), qualified 31 men and women for the NorCal championships and 16 of those athletes advanced to the California Community Colleges state meet.

Whitmyre, who earned Coast titles in the 1,500, 5,000 and 10,000-meter races, won the NorCal 10,000 race in a school record time of 39:59.78 and placed seventh in the state.

Kris Kilgore (Castilleja) was conference champion in the women's steeplechase, second in NorCal and seventh in the state with a school record of 12:13.38.

Dierdra Pettegrue and Marshey Brown, former Mt. Pleasant teammates, earned All-American honors in the 400. Pettigrue, who started her sprint career at Homestead, placed second in 55.80, one-tenth off of her PR, and Brown took third in a PR of 56.39. Thrower Whitnee Garrett (Evergreen), De Anza's Student Athlete of the Year, finished 11th at state in the shot put, after nailing third in NorCal.

On the men's side, pole vaulter Michael Barrios and high hurdler Daniel Chen were conference champs who went on to place at NorCal and State. The men's 400 relay team of Earnest Sims, Charles Hudson, Kwame Agyemang and anchor leg Kevin Gonzales (Bellarmine Prep) earned a conference title with a school record time of 41.57.

The 1,600 relay team did not win gold medals, but qualified through to state and earned sixth place. Mychal Ladd, Don Gaspar (Los Gatos), Agyemang and Gonzales all ran splits of less than 50 seconds for a season best 3:18.24 Rene Stephan (Los Gatos) placed sixth in the javelin and Marko Vatavuk (Del Mar) followed up a sixth-place NorCal finish in the decathlon with a 10th-place showing a state.

Building: PE
Contact: Kulwant Singh
Phone: 408.864.8745

Last Updated: 6/7/10