Athletics facilities
Athletics Home

De Anza Women's Basketball


De Anza Dons Women's Basketball

De Anza Women's Basketball Coach Arden KragalottHead Coach: Arden Kragalott
Phone: 408-864-8648
Office: PE-51C300
E-mail Address:

De Anza College
21250 Stevens Creek Boulevard
Cupertino, CA 95014

Assistant Coaches:
Alison Lopez
James Jackson

Head Coach, Arden Kragalott, came to De Anza College after spending 13 seasons at San Francisco State University (SFSU). At SFSU, Kragalott was able to turn around a struggling program, becoming the most successful women’s basketball coach in school history with 237 career wins. Her win totals at SFSU also earned her a top 50 spot among active coaches with the most wins at the NCAA Division II level.

Prior to her success at SFSU, Kragalott headed the Hartwick women’s basketball program in New York from 1986-91. At Hartwick, Kragalott built up another struggling program from 6 wins in her 1st season to 24 wins and a trip to the NCAA Division III Regional Finals in the 1989-90 season. These accomplishments earned her Converse District II Coach of the Year honors in that same season. She followed that up with 21 wins and another trip to the NCAA Division III Regional Finals in 1990-91.

As a student athlete at Ohio Wesleyan, Kragalott earned 4 letters in basketball, where she was the mainstay for her Battling Bishops team. She holds the school records for points in a game (42), field goals made in a game (19) and career scoring average (19.9 points per game). These achievements earned her induction into the Ohio Wesleyan Athletic Hall of Fame in 1986.

Kragalott received a B.A. in physical education from Ohio Wesleyan in 1981 and a Master of Arts in Sports Administration from The Ohio State University in 1985.

Since her arrival at De Anza College, Kragalott has proven her trend for success and rebuilding. During the 2004-05 season, Kragalott took over the helm of the De Anza College Lady Dons; a team that had struggled the previous season. Since then, she has turned the program back around to once again become a serious threat to all competition. With a 23-8 record in the 2006-07 season, the Lady Dons finished a strong, second place in league, earned a spot in the Nor Cal playoffs and finished the season ranked 11th in Northern California.

The 2007-08 season was even stronger for Kragalott and the Lady Dons, as they earned the following team and individual accolades:

  • 23-9 overall record
  • Finished ranked in the top 8, Nor Cal - (Nor Cal Elite 8 Tournament)
  • Finished ranked in the top 16, overall (State)
  • Coast Conference (South) Undefeated Champs (12-0)
  • All Conference Players: Lisa Rhett, Ranecia Fields, Derisa Taleni
  • Conference MVP: Derisa Taleni
  • All-State Player: Derisa Taleni
  • Coach of the Year: Arden Kragalott (Coast Conference - South)

During the 2010-2011 season, Kragalott and her coaching staff led the Lady Dons to an outstanding 23-7 overall record, which included a solid second place finish in Conference play (Coast South Conference).  This success continued into the post season, with the Lady Dons making an impressive showing in the Elite 8 of the Nor Cal Playoffs.  The 2010-2011 Lady Dons earned these team and individual accolades:

  • 23-7 overall record
  • Finished ranked in the top 8, Nor Cal - (Nor Cal Elite 8 Tournament)
  • Finished ranked in the top 16, overall (State)
  • Second Place, Coast Conference (South)
  • All Conference Players: Desiree Collins, Jennifer Le
  • All-State Player: Desiree Collins

The strong 2010-2011 season carried over into the following year.  The 2011-2012 Lady Dons were able to reach the first round of Nor Cal playoffs.

The Lady Dons once again went to playoffs during the 2012-2013 season, earning a spot in the Nor Cal Sweet 16.

Through the 2013-2014 season, Coach Kragalott was able to lead the Lady Dons to another successful year garnering this list of accolades and achievements:

  • 20-9 overall record
  • Finished ranked in the top 14, Nor Cal - (Playoffs - Nor Cal Quarter Finals)
  • Coast Conference (South) Champs (11-1)
  • All Conference Players, First Team: Shayla McPhearson, Lanyssa Fiaui,
    Madison Michelis
  • All Conference Players, Second Team: Jordan Gipson, Sarah Shear
  • Conference MVP: Shayla McPearson
  • All-State Player: Shayla McPhearson
  • Coach of the Year: Arden Kragalott (Coast Conference - South)



De Anza Women's Basketball Building:
Contact: Arden Kragalott
Phone: 408.864.8648

Last Updated: 3/6/14